Things I Didn’t Know I Would Miss About Texas

TexasflagPensacola, FL is a beautiful city, and I don’t for a second regret deciding to live here. But I have come to realize that no matter where I go, Texas will always be my home. While I wouldn’t describe what I’m currently feeling as homesick, I definitely miss some Texas comforts that Florida just doesn’t provide. I miss:

TEXAS DRIVING
This may come as a surprise considering I thought Texan drivers were the worst. No. Florida drivers are terrible. No one signals when changing lanes. They drive under the speed limit…like all the time! (Pitch Perfect, anyone?) Half of the cars on the road have a tail light out. Since I’ve been here, I’ve almost been side swiped and the guy looked at me as if I appeared out of thin air when I honked at him. And no one likes to let people in their lane if they can help it.

HIGHWAY SPEED LIMITS
Unless I get on I-10, which is very rare because it’s located fairly north in Pensacola, the speed limit is 55 or lower. So it takes forever and a day to get to your desired destination. Also doesn’t help that people like to go 35 in a 55 on a one-lane road! (This really happened and before you ask, no, I didn’t kill anyone.)

WEATHER
It’s humid here. All the time. It’s so sticky and stifling that I would rather risk thunderstorms and random tornadoes central Texas is prone to than deal with this humidity.
I’m joking…kind of.

HEB
No one knows the struggle of having to shop at a Wal-Mart for groceries if you’ve never lived outside Texas. I’ve also made the mistake of entering a Wal-Mart after 10pm, let me tell you, never again. They don’t sell fajita seasoning. Or chorizo. Or those delicious, fresh HEB tortillas I took for granted all these years.

TEX-MEX
On the same subject, I took all those Tex-Mex restaurants for granted back home. That’s because they’re a dime a dozen. I have yet to find a place that makes delicious breakfast tacos that I crave.

Florida does have it’s beauty. The beaches are gorgeous, and the water doesn’t look or smell like raw sewage. It’s easier to explore other cities/states since they’re not separated by days of travel. And there’s a lot of outdoor activities Avery and I need to take advantage of while we’re close to the coast, like parasailing!

But let’s face it, everything’s BETTER in Texas!

 

5 thoughts on “Things I Didn’t Know I Would Miss About Texas

  1. You will be back before you know it… enjoy everything life has to give you while you’re still young. . Love you Tia Gee

  2. Best of luck on your adventure in a new state! I’m sure you will begin to adapt and find reasons to love Florida for things Texas can’t offer, too! Stay positive!

    I’d love to get your thoughts on my blog (https://smm2016blog.wordpress.com). I’m always looking for feedback on how to improve viewership, so if you have advise, please let me know!

  3. Hello! I found your blog while perusing the First Friday comments. I was actually born in Pensacola, but haven’t been back since. It’s interesting to hear your thoughts on my “home” town. With that being said, I can’t imagine living there by the way you describe it lol. The highest speed limit is 55?? How is that possible? I mean I know Pensacola is close to Alabama, but c’mon! (By the way, Alabama has the worst drivers :P) Are you military? My mom would always tell me exciting stories about seeing the Blue Angels practice in the sky on any given day, or how she’d never seen crystal clear ocean water like that of Pensacola Beach. I’m sure you will find something to love about Pensacola or Florida in general. I look forward to hearing more about Pensacola through your blog. Good Luck! 🙂

    1. Oh, I have nothing against Florida at all. There are so many amazing things here. My dog and I love the dog beach which is something we don’t have back home. And the beaches here in Florida are WAYYY prettier than in Texas (don’t ever visit a Texas beach, they’re dirty). And I hear the Blue Angels a few times a week, it’s pretty amazing. But ya know, there really is no place like home.

Leave a Reply

