I Don’t Regret Eloping

20150522_135707

I’m not going to lie, I wanted the big wedding with the huge cake, white dress, and a first dance. Well, my dress wasn’t white, we didn’t dance, but I did get my cake! (In my eyes, that was the most important part.) Before Avery left for basic training, we set a date about a year in the future.

But things changed when he left. I didn’t cry until I got my first letter a week after he left. I hadn’t even opened it yet and I was bawling. Every day he was gone was just a check on my calendar. About three weeks before he was set to graduate I got to talk to him on the phone. And we talked about eloping. And once it was out there, we couldn’t stop thinking about it.

It was actually very easy. Much easier than I expected. After his graduation, we drove to the courthouse where we met up with our families. I had been in contact with Donald Lang who has been helping military couples for many years. He met us at the courthouse to help walk us through the whole process. Immediately after we got our marriage license, we walked to his little chapel across the street and had a small ceremony with both our families. It was short and sweet.

I absolutely, positively do not regret eloping. It was probably the best way we could have started off our marriage. Here’s why:

  1. We didn’t spend a lot of money. The most we spent was on our rings, which to me, is a wise investment.
  2. The day was about the two of us because we didn’t have any frills. There was no anxiety about decorations or food. No worrying about anything other than making it to the courthouse.
  3. Our family was there to witness it. Of course we would have loved to include a few more people, but the most important people in our lives were there.

Maybe one day we will have a ceremony to renew our vows with all of our family and friends, but if we don’t, I will be completely content with our wedding day.

5 thoughts on “I Don’t Regret Eloping

  1. I am recently engaged and have been blogging about my engagement and wedding planning so far. Eloping has crossed my mind so many times throughout the process! I’m glad it worked out perfectly for you. Congratulations!

  2. My first marriage was the full white-dress church ceremony with a reception and all the trimmings.

    My second was a very small affair on a beautiful mountaintop, with only a few witnesses.

    To each their own, but I was so nervous during my first wedding that the whole thing was a blur. So many details, so much stress, so much expense… The second one was so much more relaxed and intimate. I think eloping was a good choice. Congratulations!

    Also, I’ve seen so many people spend load of $$$ on a wedding then the marriage ends in divorce a year or two later! It’s the feelings that count 🙂

  3. I think my cake cost more than my ring I think. I thought 100.00 was too much to spend on a cake but I love cake Always have (we are def related) Doing it your way, that is exactly what is important. People these days go Crazy over having an expensive wedding which only hurts yours or parents bank accounts. You will definitely need that money living as a married couple. I always said I’d do it big later on down the line but I think I’d rather do it small again and have most important people by my side just like the first time. ♡

Leave a Reply

