I Talk To My Dog

 

I talk to my dog. I mean, there’s the usual things like commands telling her to sit, stay, shake, down, drop. I tell her good girl. And BAD DOG.

But when I say I talk to my dog, I mean I hold actual, one-way conversations with her. I ask her about her day. And I tell her about mine. I ask her what I should do about this or that. I walk her through what I’m making for dinner. I tell her what I’m thinking. I treat her as if she’s a human friend who has the capability of understanding and responding. (Sometimes, she growls at me, and I respond to her in a conversational tone and we just go back and forth that way.)

I realize that I’m not actually talking to Stella but really just talking aloud to myself. I sound like a crazy person. But I’m posting this in hopes of learning others do this, too.

5 thoughts on “I Talk To My Dog

  1. Lol that’s just adorable XD I sometimes talk to my dog as well though probably ain’t to the level that you do hahaha.
    Btw just curious, do you have any suggestions on how to play with a dog? I’ve been thinking of ways to play with mine so that I can spend more time with him.

    Perhaps you can give some ideas?

    Your pal,
    Benjamin
    http://www.projectbiy.com

    1. What can I say?! She’s my best friend!
      I love going to dog parks. It gives them a chance to run out their energy, time outside, and a place to socialize with other doggies without them feeling territorial.

      1. Actually, when she was a puppy she started growling and was very standoffish to new dogs. It took a lot of time and patience, taking her to Petsmart to let her walk around other dogs, to get her comfortable. Now, she loves meeting new dogs, but we’re careful regardless.

Leave a Reply

