September 11 Thoughts

When us Americans (and probably abroad as well) talk about 9/11, our thoughts immediately jump to the Twin Towers. We forget about the attack on the pentagon and Flight 93 headed for the White House but was brought down in a field by passengers. I think it’s important for us to fully understand what happened on 9/11 and why in order to honor everyone whose lives were taken on this terribly tragic day.

I’ve watched so many documentaries and movies that depict what this day was like for these people. We all know the aftermath: increased security in airports and government buildings, a cry for the executions of many innocent American Muslims, the destruction and vandalization of mosques on American soil, and most notable, the War on Terror.

I don’t remember what I was doing on September 11, 2001. I know I was in the second grade. I can infer I was in school. I doubt I was allowed to watch the news coverage at the time. Or I did and didn’t really comprehend the enormity of what happened. Looking back, I’m slightly grateful I was allowed to remain innocent to the evils that happened on 9/11 even for only a little bit longer.

Avery and I were able to visit the memorial for all of those who lost their lives on that day at the site of the towers at Ground Zero. Standing there in the exact spot where thousands of people lost their lives was incredibly heartbreaking and humbling.

IMG_2758img_2764img_2756img_2760

Where were you on 9/11? What were you doing?

One thought on “September 11 Thoughts

Leave a Reply

